The Speaker’s School Council Award 2014 goes to…

Winners of the Speaker's School Council Awards 2014
Winners of the Speaker’s School Council Awards 2014

We had a wonderful day out yesterday at the Houses of Parliament. We were invited by Parliament’s Education Service to come along to the presentation of the Speaker’s School Council Award.

Greg was a judge for the awards so it was great to visit the Speaker’s Apartments to see the prize giving. It was attended by MPs and other officials and each of the four winning school councils were presented with a trophy by John Bercow, the Speaker of The House of Commons. This year, over seven hundred school councils entered the competition!

Greg, myself and Emma, one of our Young Leaders

Well done to the four winning schools:

  • Torpoint Nursery and Infant School (4-7) had a project called ‘changing the law of our land in protection of wildlife’. Their aim was to network with their local MP Sheryl Murray, David Cameron and DEFRA asking them to make the environment cleaner.
  • The Hyde School (7- 11) had a project called ‘dream jobs’. They gave every student from year 1 – 6 (120 students) the opportunity to try out a career that they would like to pursue later in life.
  • Corelli College (11- 16) had a project called ‘Raising Mental Health Awareness’. Their aim was to raise awareness of mental health to everyone in the school and also the borough, which I think is brilliant.
  • West Lea Special Needs School (16- 19). This school council thought it was a good idea to open a charity shop for their pupils to volunteer and learn skills for work.

All four schools had great projects and I’m sure will do more good projects in the future. Every project starts with an idea but then you need good school councillors – just like good Members of Parliament – to make them happen!

By Franklin Amadu, Community Apprentice

“This is young citizenship at its very best with the school council working as we always hoped it would” David Blunkett MP

The judges! Greg, Edge Watchorn, Mr Speaker, Valerie Vaz MP and Emma Whiting
The judges! Greg, Edge Watchorn, Mr Speaker, Valerie Vaz MP and Emma Whiting


Leave a Reply